Author Topic: WDE Default Agent Status  (Read 459 times)

Offline Dafne88

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
WDE Default Agent Status
« on: November 28, 2019, 04:11:24 PM »
Hi,

I wanted to know if it is possible to configure a default agent state when logging on the WDE, the default status should be a custom not ready.

Thank you very much  ;D

p.s. this is my first post sorry if I did something wrong  :-[

Offline PeteHoyle

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 117
  • Karma: 10
Re: WDE Default Agent Status
« Reply #1 on: November 28, 2019, 07:27:42 PM »
Hi,

Have a look at the options 'login.<MediaName>.auto-not-ready-reason'

For example 'login.voice.auto-not-ready-reason'

https://docs.genesys.com/Documentation/Options/Current/IW/WDE-interaction-workspace#login-voice-auto-not-ready-reason

Offline Dafne88

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
Re: WDE Default Agent Status
« Reply #2 on: November 28, 2019, 08:07:54 PM »
Hi,
thank you so much, I try to configure as indicated in the link! ;)