Author Topic: WWE with Softphone no tone  (Read 229 times)

Offline Alex99

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
  • Karma: 0
WWE with Softphone no tone
« on: July 22, 2022, 12:25:37 AM »
Hi Experts here,

       I am facing an issue with one agent who used WWE with genesys softphone. The issue is when agent is on ‘Not Ready’ status for more than 01 min, and when the agent wants to make an outbound call, the call will not be connected.
There is no sound of the ringing tone at all. The agent will need to keep logging in and out  in order to make an outbound call. I tried from other working agent PC, login same user and outbound calls are working fine. Couldn't find any clue from softphone log. Suspected to be some weird issue with user PC but still not sure where to look and how to resolve.

Does anyone encountered before? can give me any useful idea how can I troubleshoot.

Thanks!

Offline hsujdik

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 498
  • Karma: 23
Re: WWE with Softphone no tone
« Reply #1 on: July 22, 2022, 08:07:22 AM »
Try reducing the REGISTER interval. If there is a firewall between the softphone and SIP Server in your network path (most of times there is) and you are using UDP (or TCP without Keepalive Socket Option), the Firewall might close the "pseudo"-connection that was open when the SIP Endpoint sent its last message, and the SIP Server's INVITE message wouldn't reach the Endpoint. Some firewalls have this closed some time between 1 to 5 minutes, which might explain why this happens when the agent goes Not Ready. Usually, the default REGISTER timer (Expires header) is set to 1800 (seconds) and the Endpoints should attempt to re-REGISTER on half of that time (900 seconds = 15 minutes). For that kind of scenario, I usually go for 90 seconds of Register interval.

If the above is your scenario:

Is your softphone configuration obtained over the SIP Endpoint socket (connector) or the config file?

If through connector, try changing the WWE option sipendpoint.register-interval to 90. If through configuration file, try changing proxies - proxy0 - reg_timeout to 90.

Offline Alex99

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
  • Karma: 0
Re: WWE with Softphone no tone
« Reply #2 on: July 22, 2022, 01:09:30 PM »
Hi Hsujdik,

     Thanks a lot for your reply. In this case, it is very weird. Their call center has 30 over agents, some work from office, some work from home....only this user encountered issue. The rest are working fine. I tried to login with this user account from my Laptop home /or from my office is working fine, I didn't encounter any issue calling out. So I don't think it's related to network or system settings. Suspected on user PC but not sure where to look and check. any idea?


Thanks!

Offline hsujdik

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 498
  • Karma: 23
Re: WWE with Softphone no tone
« Reply #3 on: July 22, 2022, 11:33:50 PM »
This could still be the same case if he is working from home, and the Softphone registers to some sort of Session Border Controller in a public IP. The internet routers have to apply NAT for outgoing requests and some of them dispose the NAT entry faster than others. If, however, the SIP Endpoint registers directly to SIP Server through a VPN tunnel, this should not be be the case for only one person.

In that case, review the options in the annex tab of the agent and the DN he/she uses to check if something related to the SIP endpoint is overwriting the application settings