Author Topic: TCP / UDP Ports  (Read 6200 times)

Offline aflores

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 0
TCP / UDP Ports
« on: September 04, 2008, 05:04:06 AM »
Hello

Need information regarding what are the tcp / udp ports and protocols used by Genesys Platform?.

Why do I need?.      Our client has implemented so many security rules that I think that it is given me some troubles. So the client ask me about the TCP / UDP ports and protocols used by Genesys, so he will allow this ports and protocols only for Genesys platform.

I will appreciated your help.

Regards.

AFlores

Offline postx

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 37
  • Karma: 0
Re: TCP / UDP Ports
« Reply #1 on: September 04, 2008, 05:11:05 AM »
Hi,
it depends on the different things:
- version of the GVP (f.e. GVP 7.2 EE doesn't need FTP, but the NE Version needs FTP for the Dispenser)
- GVP components you will install
- deployment of the components (less port usage if more components are installed on the same host)

Please tell which version you will use and how the deployment of the components will look like.

Regrads.

Offline aflores

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 0
Re: TCP / UDP Ports
« Reply #2 on: September 05, 2008, 12:05:00 AM »
Hi Postx.

Thanks for your reply.

Isn there a general document whith all the ports and protocols used By Genesys, no matther the active aplications?.

Thats what Im looking for.

regards

AFlores

Offline cavagnaro

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7458
  • Karma: 56330
Re: TCP / UDP Ports
« Reply #3 on: September 05, 2008, 01:02:18 AM »
Actually Alberto, when you install GVP or any other Genesys component you decide which ports to use. I believe on the checklist that is on deployment guide is a list of ports.

Offline eu4iacz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: 0
Re: TCP / UDP Ports
« Reply #4 on: September 05, 2008, 06:50:13 PM »
I also think that the port configuration depends mostly on your installation. Which means that Genesys uses ports that you entered when you installed the framework. There are recommended ports that you are prompted with during installation, but you can change it on your own.

Actually Alberto, when you install GVP or any other Genesys component you decide which ports to use. I believe on the checklist that is on deployment guide is a list of ports.
Save the logfiles...

tony

  • Guest
Re: TCP / UDP Ports
« Reply #5 on: September 06, 2008, 12:04:59 AM »
...it might be easier to get your Network guys to list the TCP/IP>UDP ports already in use in your organization and avoid using them when installing Genesys components...?

Tony

Offline CTIgem

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 273
  • Karma: 0
Re: TCP / UDP Ports
« Reply #6 on: September 08, 2008, 09:08:40 PM »
Genesys uses TCP mostly, I believe.
Please stay above 3000 range and you can assigned them as genesys ask for it.
I use 3000 range for framework, 5000 range for reporting 6000 range for management so forth.
And tell your security to open those ports for you.

Offline alan.mcintosh

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: 0
Re: TCP / UDP Ports
« Reply #7 on: September 12, 2008, 12:14:49 PM »
You should also be aware that objects such as SIP Endpoint use a random high range of UDP ports.
It is also possible to force the endpoint to a fixed port. Please take a look at the depolyment guide for more information
Using tools such as wireshark will help you identify which ports are being used.