Author Topic: DataMart migration  (Read 1594 times)

Offline smile

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 286
  • Karma: 6
DataMart migration
« on: April 13, 2010, 07:34:28 AM »
Hi All

Is it possible to migrate DataMart statistics from one db to another? I know that it sounds very strange, but... One of implementation has corrupted db. When we tried to create a new reporting layout in DMA, the error occurs - 'new layout can't be retrieved'. After than, DMA was restarted, and i found that two identical report layouts has been created - they was named identically, the one difference was in that the first one was activated, but the second ones was disabled... In short terms, ETL runtime returns the strange error about they receives more than one result for the request, not as expected (1). ETL assistance said that all is ok.
I fixed the db manually, and i found the bad records and drop them, but it is a temporary solution. I think the best way is to create a new db and migrate configuration and statistic to it. The good news that option 'dropTransferredTables' was not enabled and we have too much raw chunks in ODS. But is it possible to assign ODS from old DataMart to new DataMart with any kind of a hack?
With best regards and so on

Offline ecki

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 329
  • Karma: 8
Re: DataMart migration
« Reply #1 on: April 13, 2010, 08:28:10 AM »
Hi,

Yes, you can export report templates in to xml files, which exports statistics definitions as well. The other option would be to backup Stat Server options and restore with new stat server you are going to use with new CCA. But if I understood you correctly, you just want to reinitialize your DataMart and ODS. For this, you  do not have to worry about statistics as they are stored in Stat Server as I mentioned already and will be adopted by new ODS/Datasource instance. Just make sure you synchronize the SS configuration in DMA.

e.

Offline smile

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 286
  • Karma: 6
Re: DataMart migration
« Reply #2 on: April 13, 2010, 02:45:17 PM »
Thank you, ecki, you're right. I'll do this :)

but the more interesting question is - can we move existing historical statistic data from old db to the new one? I'm asking about it, because we have not flushed ODS db with all chunks during last year. So, if i would say to a new ETL - use the old ODS db, this will be very nice.
if someone migrate to a new version of statistic or new database (from oracle to ms sql or vice versa) they will always lose their historical data?
With best regards and so on