" /> Initializing the Data Mart - MSSQL EXPRESS - Genesys CTI User Forum

Author Topic: Initializing the Data Mart - MSSQL EXPRESS  (Read 39630 times)

Offline genecool

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 59
  • Karma: 0
Initializing the Data Mart - MSSQL EXPRESS
« on: March 24, 2011, 09:26:27 AM »
Advertisement
Hi,

Using the Genesys documentation, I try to initialize my Data Mart on a Windows platform. I use an SQL EXPRESS Database.

So, I change database initialization parameters as following : jdbcurl=jdbc:jtds:sqlserver://localhost/DataMart;instance=SQLEXPRESS
Then I run the run-createdb.bat batch script.

However, an  errors occur, into the log file : java.sql.SQLException: Server localhost has no instance named SQLEXPRESS.

Does anyone have an idea, please?

Offline cavagnaro

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7641
  • Karma: 56330
Re: Initializing the Data Mart - MSSQL EXPRESS
« Reply #1 on: March 24, 2011, 03:44:46 PM »
1. SQL Express is not supported and is a terrible idea to use it due limitations
2. Is the services up?
3. Check with a Enterprise Manager the name of your instance.
4. Why /datamart in the server name?

Offline genecool

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 59
  • Karma: 0
Re: Initializing the Data Mart - MSSQL EXPRESS
« Reply #2 on: March 24, 2011, 04:23:48 PM »
1. I use SQL Express to a laboratory so the limits are not a problem.
2. Services are up (SQL Server and SQL Server Browser Service)
3. With MS SQL Server Management Studio Express I can see localhost\EXPRESS as the server name.
4. DataMart is the name of my Data Mart database.

Offline cavagnaro

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7641
  • Karma: 56330
Re: Initializing the Data Mart - MSSQL EXPRESS
« Reply #3 on: March 24, 2011, 04:25:03 PM »
Try removing the /Datamart.
try instance as localhost/sqlexpress

Offline genecool

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 59
  • Karma: 0
Re: Initializing the Data Mart - MSSQL EXPRESS
« Reply #4 on: March 24, 2011, 04:58:33 PM »
Find the results bellow :

[list]
[li]jdbcurl=jdbc:jtds:sqlserver://localhost/DataMart;instance=SQLEXPRESS[/li][/list]
  --> Exception : java.sql.SQLException: Server localhost has no instance named SQLEXPRESS
[list][li]jdbcurl=jdbc:jtds:sqlserver://localhost/sqlexpress;DatabaseName=DataMart[/li][/list]
  --> Exception : java.sql.SQLException: Network error IOException: Connection refused: connect
[list][li]jdbcurl=jdbc:jtds:sqlserver://localhost/SQLEXPRESS;DatabaseName=DataMart[/li][/list]
  --> Exception : java.sql.SQLException: Network error IOException: Connection refused: connect
[list][li]jdbcurl=jdbc:jtds:sqlserver://localhost/SQLEXPRESS[/li][/list]
  --> Exception : java.sql.SQLException: Network error IOException: Connection refused: connect
[list][li]jdbcurl=jdbc:jtds:sqlserver://localhost:1433;DatabaseName=DataMart;instance=SQLEXPRESS[/li][/list]
  --> Exception : java.sql.SQLException: Server localhost has no instance named SQLEXPRESS
[list][li]jdbcurl=jdbc:jtds:sqlserver://localhost:1433;DatabaseName=DataMart[/li][/list]
  --> Exception : java.sql.SQLException: Network error IOException: Connection refused: connect
[list][li]jdbcurl=jdbc:jtds:sqlserver://localhost;DatabaseName=DataMart[/li]
[/list]
  --> Exception : java.sql.SQLException: Network error IOException: Connection refused: connect






Offline cavagnaro

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7641
  • Karma: 56330
Re: Initializing the Data Mart - MSSQL EXPRESS
« Reply #5 on: March 24, 2011, 05:21:56 PM »
why don't you:
1. Create DataMart DAP:
Type: MSSQL
DBName: DataMart
user: genesys
pass: xxxxx

2. Create ETL app
3. Associate them
4. Start ETL service

That should work in the same way

Offline genecool

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 59
  • Karma: 0
Re: Initializing the Data Mart - MSSQL EXPRESS
« Reply #6 on: March 24, 2011, 05:26:17 PM »
It's done, but to use my data mart database  I must initialize it before with the run-createdb.bat batch script

Offline fnunezsa

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 213
  • Karma: 5
Re: Initializing the Data Mart - MSSQL EXPRESS
« Reply #7 on: March 24, 2011, 06:33:16 PM »
[quote]With MS SQL Server Management Studio Express I can see localhost\EXPRESS as the server name.[/quote]

Try:
jdbcurl=jdbc:jtds:sqlserver://localhost/DataMart;instance=EXPRESS

Removing "SQL" from the instance name.

Offline cavagnaro

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7641
  • Karma: 56330
Re: Initializing the Data Mart - MSSQL EXPRESS
« Reply #8 on: March 24, 2011, 06:37:13 PM »
Ah...good eye  :)

Offline postx

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 37
  • Karma: 0
Re: Initializing the Data Mart - MSSQL EXPRESS
« Reply #9 on: March 25, 2011, 01:27:33 AM »
enable tcp/ip connections on your silly m$ sql express thing....


real solution: use oracle

Offline cavagnaro

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7641
  • Karma: 56330
Re: Initializing the Data Mart - MSSQL EXPRESS
« Reply #10 on: March 25, 2011, 02:27:09 AM »
Real solution:
Know your platform...

Informix, DB2, Oracle, MSSQL or Sybase are good BD, the fact that you prefer Oracle because you are more familiar with it has no point here.

Obviously TCP/IP is enabled, otherwise he wouldn't get MSSQL specific messages, so connection is good.

Offline genecool

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 59
  • Karma: 0
Re: Initializing the Data Mart - MSSQL EXPRESS
« Reply #11 on: March 25, 2011, 08:24:11 AM »
Thanks for your interest.

I tried  "jdbcurl=jdbc:jtds:sqlserver://localhost;DatabaseName=DataMart;instance=EXPRESS" and "jdbcurl=jdbc:jtds:sqlserver://localhost/DataMart;instance=EXPRESS".


The returned message is the same for both : java.sql.SQLException: Server localhost not named instance EXPRESS.


For your information, TCP/IP connections are already enabled

Offline cavagnaro

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7641
  • Karma: 56330
Re: Initializing the Data Mart - MSSQL EXPRESS
« Reply #12 on: March 25, 2011, 03:19:20 PM »
Have you tried with Genesys objects directly as I mentioned?

Offline fnunezsa

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 213
  • Karma: 5
Re: Initializing the Data Mart - MSSQL EXPRESS
« Reply #13 on: March 25, 2011, 05:17:25 PM »
Do you have more than one SQL instance on that server? If not, you can remove the instance property and try:

jdbcurl=jdbc:jtds:sqlserver://localhost/DataMart

Offline genecool

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 59
  • Karma: 0
Re: Initializing the Data Mart - MSSQL EXPRESS
« Reply #14 on: March 25, 2011, 06:52:01 PM »
Yes I know. I have already tried this.

Nothing works! Does anyone know the structure of the Data Mart database so I can initialize it myself?