Genesys CTI User Forum

Genesys CTI User Forum => Genesys CTI Technical Discussion => Topic started by: ymattica on February 05, 2016, 10:03:42 AM

Title: Global/root variables in Composer 8.1.4
Post by: ymattica on February 05, 2016, 10:03:42 AM
Hi,
I have the same problems ( like http://www.sggu.com/smf/index.php/topic,8226.0.htm :ol ) ..


I created the file ../src/ApplicationRoot.vxml

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<vxml version="2.1" xml:lang="en-US"
xmlns="http://www.w3.org/2001/vxml"
xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance"
xmlns:gvp="http://www.genesyslab.com/2006/vxml21-extension">

<var name="varGlobale" expr="0"/>

</vxml>

I created a simple application with one main and two subflow

I specified use of the file ../src/ApplicationRoot.vxml  in each entry block ( Global-->ApplicationRoot properties )

I made many tests and ...
1) A global variable can not be passed as an input parameter in a subdialog because it is a variable of type 'user'
2) modification of its value has visibility only within the subflow that uses it.
3) a global variable can be passed as output by a subflow

..so I did not understand what they are global variables.
There is how to use these variables as 'global' ... and for global mean that the change to this variable is assigned at any level?

Regards


Title: Re: Global/root variables in Composer 8.1.4
Post by: Kubig on February 05, 2016, 11:59:31 AM
They are called general variables, because you can use them from any place within the same application and they are configured just on one place. This is nothing related strictly to the Genesys, it is VXML related - so try to look at variable scoping to better understand how this works and how used it.
Title: Re: Global/root variables in Composer 8.1.4
Post by: shakeel8787 on December 26, 2017, 03:21:33 PM
Hi,

I am stuck on the same issue. I have a variable var1 defined and initialized to "123" in ComposerRoot.vxml. I now modify this to "456" from a subdialog (sub1.callflow) which called from the main callflow, and I return it in exit block. the update "456" is available in the main callflow and sub1. but when I call another subdialog, sub2 from the main callflow, the value is still "123".

Appreciate some help. I am not sure, whether I am using it the way it is supposed to be used.

Thanks
Shakeel
Title: Re: Global/root variables in Composer 8.1.4
Post by: cavagnaro on December 27, 2017, 12:22:09 AM
Already discussed...won't work that way. Use a simple variable and input/output at the subcallflow