Author Topic: this site search  (Read 9000 times)

DJM

  • Guest
this site search
« on: December 22, 2006, 12:16:45 AM »
Hi guys,

Great site.. brilliant to have another forum/kb other than the Genesys one.

How come the search at the top doesn't work however? are others having the same problem? just doesn't nothing, eventually gives 'The page cannot be displayed'

Cheers

Offline cavagnaro

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7378
  • Karma: 56330
Re: this site search
« Reply #1 on: December 22, 2006, 11:59:34 AM »
  • Best Answer
  • Mine keeps thinking like for minutes, then just exhausted. Seems a DB problem or a syntax one

    Offline victor

    • Administrator
    • Hero Member
    • *****
    • Posts: 1401
    • Karma: 18
    Re: this site search
    « Reply #2 on: December 22, 2006, 03:36:38 PM »
  • Best Answer
  • Hi, guys,

    the problem seems to lie with the version we have upgraded to.
    There seems to be some bug in the latest SMF release that makes search function stop working.
    It just hangs there.

    I have emailed SMF developers regarding this and waiting for the reply. Yes, search function is very necessary, especially considering how much stuff we have here.

    With you permission, I will move the post into Announcement board.

    In the meantime, we are stuck with browsing the pages... Sorry about that! :-\
    Vic

    Offline sy278

    • Jr. Member
    • **
    • Posts: 72
    • Karma: 1
    Re: this site search
    « Reply #3 on: January 04, 2007, 02:19:39 AM »
  • Best Answer
  • Vic,

    Check these two threads for a possible solution, the problem seems to be exactly the same:


    http://www.simplemachines.org/community/index.php?topic=137320.0


    Problem on above thread resolved using this one:

    http://www.simplemachines.org/community/index.php?topic=72412.0


    Hope thats of some help,


    Sy

    Offline sy278

    • Jr. Member
    • **
    • Posts: 72
    • Karma: 1
    Re: this site search
    « Reply #4 on: January 05, 2007, 01:40:50 AM »
  • Best Answer
  • Can an site admin please try the following to sort the search problem:

    Disabling the spell check has sorted this for alot of people.

    If you don't know how to do this, go to the Admin section and look for the "Posts and Topics" section under "Forum" in your sidebar. From there, find "Post Settings" and uncheck the "Enable Spell Checking" option then click  the "save" button.

    Offline victor

    • Administrator
    • Hero Member
    • *****
    • Posts: 1401
    • Karma: 18
    Re: this site search
    « Reply #5 on: January 06, 2007, 09:20:36 PM »
  • Best Answer
  • SY278!  ::)

    I checked up on the links and disabled the spell-check and, guess what, it works!
    Thank you! ;)

    Vic

    Offline sy278

    • Jr. Member
    • **
    • Posts: 72
    • Karma: 1
    Re: this site search
    « Reply #6 on: January 07, 2007, 03:32:06 AM »
  • Best Answer
  • no problem, did you have a look at the demo forum I set-up to let you see the changes for the news box and adding in the chat button?

    I sent you PM with the address to have a look.

    Offline victor

    • Administrator
    • Hero Member
    • *****
    • Posts: 1401
    • Karma: 18
    Re: this site search
    « Reply #7 on: January 11, 2007, 09:54:28 AM »
  • Best Answer
  • Hi, Sy278!

    How are you?

    Thank you for the link - I looked at it and it looks very nice. Newsbox and chat buttons look great, but newsbox itself is too small.
    I like the one we have here, which shows everything right on top of forum box.

    Interestingly enough, most of the scripts be default modify the default smf template (duh! ;D ) and not the default template as set in this forum. If you go into your user settings and switch to the default SMF template, you will see all the buttons there.  There are a lot of interesting modules that I would like to slowly start adding and if possible I would like to switch over to the default SMF template provided that the rest of the users like it as well.

    The problem is that I do not think this template is as visually appealing as what we are using right now.

    What do you think?

    Best regards,
    Vic

    Offline sy278

    • Jr. Member
    • **
    • Posts: 72
    • Karma: 1
    Re: this site search
    « Reply #8 on: January 13, 2007, 10:59:07 PM »
  • Best Answer
  • Victor,

    I'm fine thanks, you?


    I personally think the other template is nicer looking, more modern feel to it, but not really fussed to be honest.

    I can give you the changed file to insert the chat button on this template.

    I thought you wanted that wee news box in top right made bigger (http://www.sggu.com/smf/index.php/topic,1847.0.html) maybe I got the wrong thing.


    Let me know if I can help in any other ways.


    Scott

    Offline victor

    • Administrator
    • Hero Member
    • *****
    • Posts: 1401
    • Karma: 18
    Re: this site search
    « Reply #9 on: January 23, 2007, 09:19:59 PM »
  • Best Answer
  • Hi, Scott,

    actually, after I started using this default template, I am so used to it, that I am not sure if I can go back.

    Now, it is really easy to use, and on top of having all new models automatically added to the toolbar, I think it even loads faster than the previous one.

    So, now I am used to this one. But changing it for everyone else is going to be a disaster - too many people are used to their layout. What do you think is the best way to proceed?

    Vic

    Offline sy278

    • Jr. Member
    • **
    • Posts: 72
    • Karma: 1
    Re: this site search
    « Reply #10 on: January 24, 2007, 04:48:03 AM »
  • Best Answer
  • If you want to stick to this one, all you need to do is add the chat button.

    I can give yout the stuff for this if you want.


    Scott