" /> Check if target exists before routing (URS 7.6) - Genesys CTI User Forum

Author Topic: Check if target exists before routing (URS 7.6)  (Read 3683 times)

Offline tech12

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: 1
Check if target exists before routing (URS 7.6)
« on: February 01, 2012, 06:27:58 PM »
Advertisement
Hi guys,

Long time lurker here.. so finally something came up that I can't seem to resolve or find a discussion on.

I have a strategy that collects digits and then attempts to route to an Agent (per digits) or his VM (TRoute if Agent isn't Available). All is well, unless the caller enters digits that do not exist.

Currently, there is only a length check in place for digits entered, but I would like to check if the target exists in config before attempting to route.

Ultimately, the goal is to send them into a loop to enter digits again, if the target doesn't exist.

Any ideas? Am I missing something obvious?

Offline kubikle

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 140
  • Karma: 7
Re: Check if target exists before routing (URS 7.6)
« Reply #1 on: February 01, 2012, 09:33:46 PM »
Posible options (may be):
- direct access from strategy to config server data base (through db server)
- or upgrade to 8.1.1 where functions TargetState and GetConfigObject are exposed)

Offline tech12

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: 1
Re: Check if target exists before routing (URS 7.6)
« Reply #2 on: February 01, 2012, 10:36:49 PM »
Thanks for the reply.

Upgrading isn't an option at the moment(however, it would be ideal :)).

I was debating about the query to the config db as well. I might just do that. Should be a simple db dip.

I was also looking at possibly using a statistic as a workaround, i.e. [i]if stat != '', then continue routing, else loop back to prompt[/i]. Only I can't seem to think of a proper stat to use.

The assumption is that if the stat doesn't exist, then the agent doesn't exist. However, this raises another concern. If for some reason the StatServer stops monitoring an agent, I might get a blank stat for him...

Offline tech12

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: 1
Re: Check if target exists before routing (URS 7.6)
« Reply #3 on: February 02, 2012, 05:49:44 PM »
Decided to go with DB dip. Least painful solution. :D

Offline 147_Keys

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
Re: Check if target exists before routing (URS 7.6)
« Reply #4 on: February 08, 2012, 01:24:41 AM »
Looks like you might have already found a solution, but here's what we do:

-create an Agent Group that contains all the extensions this call could potentially route to (can be a Virtual Agent Group based on Skill)
-use the ExpandGroup function against this Agent Group to get a comma-delimited list of all "valid" agents. Assign this output to a variable.
-use the StrStr function with the variable as Source and the CED from the extension prompt as To Find.  We Cat '@' after the CED to make sure we are finding the full extension, but if you've already checked for the correct length then you may not have to do this.

Good luck!
John

Offline tech12

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: 1
Re: Check if target exists before routing (URS 7.6)
« Reply #5 on: February 08, 2012, 06:29:49 PM »
Sounds interesting. This is similar to what I was considering in the first place. However, if we 'forget' to assign a skill to  an agent, he will not be routed to.

Granted, this is unlikely to happen :), but I would rather not take chances with human error. In my environment there are too many people who can modify agent skills, so the probability of error is there for sure.

If the db dip will not work out, this will be my next option.

Thanks for your input, 147_Keys.