Author Topic: Host Migration Question.  (Read 1359 times)

Offline vjicecool

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 127
  • Karma: -1
Host Migration Question.
« on: February 21, 2013, 01:09:57 AM »
hey folks
I have a question regarding migrating hosts from one OS to another OS. From windows to Linux.
These are the steps i figured out

1) Build Hosts in CME
2) Installing apps on the hosts (same directory path).
3) Change settings in the server info tab and start info tab.
4) Edit flex lm file to add new host details

Will there be any other places i need to make changes.
« Last Edit: February 21, 2013, 01:42:58 AM by vjicecool »

Offline borkokrz

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 138
  • Karma: 5
Re: Host Migration Question.
« Reply #1 on: February 24, 2013, 11:04:57 PM »
I don't know your complete scenario (possible down time etc). But the simplest way is 2 things. Change the ip of the host if necessary and install applications. Startup infos and flexlm in startup command will be corrected on the installation process. If this windows components is running flexlm, you will have to move it to another windows host or order new license. Windows hosts usually have hostid as volumeid and linux - mac address.
Other possible places: hosts or DNS, firewalls, etc.   

Offline fnunezsa

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 213
  • Karma: 5
Re: Host Migration Question.
« Reply #2 on: March 05, 2013, 08:22:26 AM »
you cannot edit your license file to change the host details (hostid/mac address). If you do so, your license file will become unusable. You need to engage your Genesys vendor to have them request your license file to be re-hosted by Genesys.
GCP7 - CIV, DIV, CVP, CGIM
GCP8 - COV, CiWD

Offline vjicecool

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 127
  • Karma: -1
Re: Host Migration Question.
« Reply #3 on: March 07, 2013, 08:13:51 AM »
you cannot edit your license file to change the host details (hostid/mac address). If you do so, your license file will become unusable. You need to engage your Genesys vendor to have them request your license file to be re-hosted by Genesys.

Thank you  :)