" /> GoTo block implementation issue - Genesys CTI User Forum

Author Topic: GoTo block implementation issue  (Read 10761 times)

anoredis

  • Guest
GoTo block implementation issue
« on: November 07, 2013, 10:29:46 AM »
Advertisement
Hello there,

I am trying to access another application through my IVR. I try this using the GoTo block (i know all about subcallflow but not suitable for what I am trying to do). I define the URL and the parameters I want to send to the second IVR at the GoTo block properties.
At the entry block of the second IVR I define the same variables with the ones I pass from the first IVR as 'input' but no data is carried. When I try to log them at the second IVR it gives me an 'undefined' value for both of them.

At the MCP log i see that the parameters are attached to the URL like
[code]http://secondIVR/src-gen/Main.vxml?skill=testSkill&agent=testAgent[/code]
I have the same problem whith the subdialog and type 'Url' ...

How can I get these values on the second IVR application?

Thanks in advance!

Offline Kubig

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2755
  • Karma: 44
Re: GoTo block implementation issue
« Reply #1 on: November 07, 2013, 11:39:12 AM »
  • Best Answer
  • I think that it is not possible to do through GoTo block, as the VXML standard says. So, what are your reasons for not using another VXML block, like a subdialog or another else?

    anoredis

    • Guest
    Re: GoTo block implementation issue
    « Reply #2 on: November 07, 2013, 11:57:50 AM »
  • Best Answer
  • I needed to get out of the application and load a new one. I am still confused. I cannot find the reason why having a block with properties it doesn't process. Anyway, I have tried subdialog and specified the Url and parameters but still, nothing one the other side... :(

    Offline Kubig

    • Hero Member
    • *****
    • Posts: 2755
    • Karma: 44
    Re: GoTo block implementation issue
    « Reply #3 on: November 07, 2013, 12:14:07 PM »
  • Best Answer
  • Did you read VXML specification about GoTo or Subdialog block? I mean that no, because you have to know that GoTo block has no namelist option. Try to use subdialog which has namelist, where you can specify variables.

    As I said, as first read and learn the VXML specification.

    anoredis

    • Guest
    Re: GoTo block implementation issue
    « Reply #4 on: November 07, 2013, 12:34:09 PM »
  • Best Answer
  • Still cant get it to work. Here is what I do. Specify the variables (Category=user) and give them values in the Entry block of the first app. I add a subdialog block to my callflow and set the Method=GET, Type=Url and Uri to [code]http://ipaddres/project/src-gen/Main.vxml[/code] I define the parameters as output and set their values to the local ones(i have used the namelist either true/false doesn't work). In the second Entry block I define the same name variables and set their value to AppState.var1 and AppState.var2 (or leave it empty, doesn't work either way) and their category as Input. Still haven't managed to make it work. What am I doing wrong?

    Offline Kubig

    • Hero Member
    • *****
    • Posts: 2755
    • Karma: 44
    Re: GoTo block implementation issue
    « Reply #5 on: November 07, 2013, 02:34:08 PM »
  • Best Answer
  • Post please your subdialog block. Namelist is an attribute which can contain list of variables, no true or false - it is not a boolean. As I wrote, as first learn about VXML.

    anoredis

    • Guest
    Re: GoTo block implementation issue
    « Reply #6 on: November 07, 2013, 02:49:00 PM »
  • Best Answer
  • No difference with post I have tried both.  You keep replying "read about VXML", find the solution on my own that is. Seriously now, do not reply if you do not feel like it, don't make the other person feel bad for asking.

    Offline cavagnaro

    • Administrator
    • Hero Member
    • *****
    • Posts: 7641
    • Karma: 56330
    Re: GoTo block implementation issue
    « Reply #7 on: November 07, 2013, 03:04:20 PM »
  • Best Answer
  • Once you go to a subdialong you must use a Assign block, so you pass incoming variables to the local ones. For GVP/JSP/ASP doesn't matter if they have the same name, the ambit is different.

    anoredis

    • Guest
    Re: GoTo block implementation issue
    « Reply #8 on: November 07, 2013, 03:32:29 PM »
  • Best Answer
  • Thank you very much cavagnaro! If i understand correctly you mean to add an Assign block right after the Entry block of by subdialog? Do I keep the variables as category=input to the second application and assign them values as var1 = AppState.var1 or do I use a session variable to add them the values I need? Please, can you provide a simple example? Much appreciate your help here...

    Offline cavagnaro

    • Administrator
    • Hero Member
    • *****
    • Posts: 7641
    • Karma: 56330
    Re: GoTo block implementation issue
    « Reply #9 on: November 07, 2013, 03:46:15 PM »
  • Best Answer
  • When you call a subdialog you choose which variables to send, lets say X1.
    The on your VXML application you grab those.

          <var name="X1" />

    So then in your subdialog you choose a Assign object (yes, of course, after the entry) and select the Input category, which should show the variables you used as input...I think. Of call it by the variable name.

    I think there is a sample illustrating this on the composer samples...how to be sure? When you compile your application check the VXML file and see if it has some logic hehe

    anoredis

    • Guest
    Re: GoTo block implementation issue
    « Reply #10 on: November 07, 2013, 04:00:22 PM »
  • Best Answer
  • when the subdialog is referring to a subcallflow in the project then yes, it synchronizes the input variables between the two applications. But when the second application is referred as a url in the subdialog box(this is the case here) it does not. Also, I used to initialize the variables in the entry block and did not use an additional assign block for this purpose as you suggest. Is this wrong or it's a safer practice?

    Offline cavagnaro

    • Administrator
    • Hero Member
    • *****
    • Posts: 7641
    • Karma: 56330
    Re: GoTo block implementation issue
    « Reply #11 on: November 07, 2013, 04:14:53 PM »
  • Best Answer
  • When I had to invoque a subdialog with another VXML as said, I did the <var name="X1" /> and worked fine.
    I think we are talking about different things here. You need to assign according to what you are doing, if you say it works by default then it is behaving as my sample.

    My project did a call to a subvxml (Subdialog object)

    [code]
    <form id="DigestX">
    <subdialog name="DigestX" src="../digest.vxml">
    <param name="X1" expr="AppState.Y1" />

    [/code]

    So then on the disgest.vxml I only did

    [code]
    <var name="X1" />
    .
    .
    .
    .
    <prompt bargein="true" gvp:langexpr="language">
                <say-as interpret-as="spell" format="alphanumeric">
                  <value expr="X1" />
    [/code]

    anoredis

    • Guest
    Re: GoTo block implementation issue
    « Reply #12 on: November 11, 2013, 07:53:13 AM »
  • Best Answer
  • I never modified the vxml on my own before. I always used composer and generated the vxml through it. I will try to make the modifications you suggested! Thanks for your help cavagnaro!

    Offline cavagnaro

    • Administrator
    • Hero Member
    • *****
    • Posts: 7641
    • Karma: 56330
    Re: GoTo block implementation issue
    « Reply #13 on: November 11, 2013, 01:34:09 PM »
  • Best Answer
  • No need to, just compare the VXML code generated with this. Try to follow and understand the idea. So you see where the issue is