Author Topic: Virtual Hold  (Read 34569 times)

Offline Andy

Virtual Hold
« on: February 07, 2008, 01:16:21 AM »
Hello,

I'm a Software Engineer and I recently joined the forum.
With that, Vic asked if I could write up a brief description about our product, "Virtual Hold".

So briefly......

Our Purpose:
The primary function of Virtual Hold (VH) is to offer callers the option for a call back rather than waiting on hold.  This allows the caller to do something productive while waiting for an agent to become available.
Plus, when the caller finally reaches an agent they are not frustrated about being on hold for an extended period and agents are less stressed by irate callers.
Virtual Hold also allows the call center to flatten the call load by spreading it across more time.

In a Nutshell:
When a call arrives VH will check the current EWT and if the EWT is less than the define threshold, typically 2-3 minutes, the call will be routed to the ACD Queue.  Just as it normally would and the caller is on hold.
If the EWT is over the defined threshold, VH will route the call to an IVR for VH treatment. The VH IVR may (optionally) announce the EWT to the caller and VH will offer the caller the choice for a call back rather than waiting on hold. 
If the caller chooses to remain on hold then they will be transferred from the IVR to the ACD hold queue to wait for an agent.
If the caller chooses a call back they will enter their phone number and name and the call will be terminated. 
However, VH will maintain their position in queue and call them back moments before they would have moved from the ACD queue to an agent,
The caller will then be transferred to the front of the queue and to the next available agent.   
If the phone number VH is calling back, happens to be busy, or does not answer, VH can be configured try again.

VH can communicate with your phone switch through the Dialogic CTConnect product, Cisco, and/or Genesys. 

What Else?